2013 TBR Pile Reading Challenge

2013tbrpilechallI have a very large TBR (to-be-read) pile at home. There are several piles, actually: one in my bedroom, where I keep the go-to reading, one in the basement, where I keep the stuff my mom gives me and the remaining books from when I raided Borders, and in the attic/upstairs where all the book sale books are kept.

Thus, it’s easy for me to come up with ten books for the 2013 TBR pile reading challenge, hosted by Roof Beam Reader. They are, in no particular order:

1. 11/22/63 by Stephen King

2. A visit From the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

3. Super Sad True Love Story by Gary Shteyngart

4. The Unnamed by Joshua Ferris

5. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

6. The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon

7. The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion

8. When You Are Engulfed in Flames by David Sedaris

9. Life of Pi by Yann Martel

10. Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides

11. Juliet, Naked by Nick Hornby

12. A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving

Alternates:

13. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

14. The Passage by Justin Cronin

10 comments

  1. Glad you’re joining us! I love, love, love your list. But it’s actually 12 books with 2 alternates (14 total). So you need to add another 2 books – or just make your whole list “required” without any alternates… up to you!

    Perks of Being a Wallflower is my favorite book of all-time. I’ve read it 5 or 6 times since it’s publication, but only just reviewed it this year, after being too scared to do so…. I was always worried that I wouldn’t do it justice, but I finally realized that I needed to share my thoughts about it.

    Middlesex is also brilliant. Didn’t enjoy Life of Pi very much, but it’s one I think most people should probably read. The others, I haven’t read, but Ready Player One, The Passge, 11/22/63, A Visit from the Goon Squad, Kavalier & Clay… all easily could have made my list this year!

    Good luck – looking forward to reading your thoughts!

  2. Great list! I have read 9, 10 and 11 and they are great reads. Although I think Life of Pi is an either you love it or hate it kind of book.
    The others on your list could easily be on my list, too.

    Good luck!

Leave a comment